Busch Claims Victory in Texas


Kyle Busch won the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 from Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon to pick up his first win of the season.

Busch led a race-high 116 laps on his way to victory lane, but he still had to hold off a hard-charging Kevin Harvick over the final 25-lap run.  Busch has three runner-up finishes this season, and he was finally able to pick up one more position to get to victory lane.

Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Busch said he was excited to finally get his car to victory lane.

“So cool to be in victory lane…finally this year,” Busch said.  “After Daytona we’ve just been on a roll of finishing really good, and we were really pumped and excited about that, but frustrated at the same time.”

Harvick was catching Busch in the closing laps, but he couldn’t overcome multiple pit road issues that plagued his team throughout the weekend.

Busch said he knew he had to be perfect in the closing laps to hold off Harvick.

“They were probably a tick faster overall, so I just had to do everything I could to hit all my marks,” Busch said.

Harvick said his car didn’t handle well in traffic once he got back in the pack.

“Kyle’s car was just fast enough that I had to go a whole run to make up that ground that I needed to win,” Harvick said.  “We just didn’t turn as well in traffic.”

“We were just fortunate our Busch Light Ford was as fast as it was to cover up what was just an absolutely pathetic two days on pit road.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Jamie McMurray
  4. Erik Jones
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. William Byron
  11. Chase Elliott
  12. Trevor Bayne
  13. Ty Dillon
  14. Michael McDowell
  15. Chris Buescher
  16. Matt DiBenedetto
  17. Kasey Kahne
  18. Ross Chastain
  19. Cole Whitt
  20. Gray Gaulding
  21. Landon Cassill
  22. Harrrison Rhodes
  23. David Ragan
  24. AJ Allmendinger
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. Austin Dillon
  27. Ryan Newman
  28. Alex Bowman
  29. Daniel Suarez
  30. Paul Menard
  31. Reed Sorenson
  32. Aric Almirola
  33. Brad Keselowski
  34. Denny Hamlin
  35. Jimmie Johnson
  36. Kyle Larson
  37. Martin Truex Jr.