Busch Closes in on History with Phoenix Win


Kyle Busch won the Ticket Guardian 500 from ISM Raceway on Sunday afternoon.

Busch had one of the most dominant cars throughout the race on Sunday, and led a race-high 177 laps.  Busch chased down pole-sitter Ryan Blaney over the final green-flag run while the two drivers tried to save enough fuel to reach the end of the race.

Busch said he knew fuel might play a factor before drivers took the green flag for the final restart.

Daniel Shirey/Getty Images

“I knew…before we went green with however many to go that we were going to be right on the verge,” Busch said.  “You’ve got to race hard first and worry about fuel afterwards.”

After giving up the lead, Blaney fell to third while he saved fuel.  Blaney said his car drove better over the final run than he expected after his team only changed two tires on the final pit stop.

“Honestly, we hung on better there on two tires than I thought we would,” Blaney said.  “When we got passed for the lead it was just full fuel-save mode.”

The victory was Busch’s 199th career victory across all three of NASCAR’s national touring series.  Busch, now on the verge of history, is just one win away from tying Richard Petty for the most wins in NASCAR history with 200.

Busch said it’s not for him to decide what the number means.

“It not for me to worry about; it’s for everybody else to talk about and discuss and argue over,” Busch said.  “To work with my guys and take them to victory lane is what it’s all about.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Aric Almirola
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  14. Chase Elliott
  15. Ty Dillon
  16. Chris Buescher
  17. Paul Menard
  18. Daniel Hemric
  19. Brad Keselowski
  20. Matt Tifft
  21. Austin Dillon
  22. Bubba Wallace
  23. Daniel Suarez
  24. William Byron
  25. David Ragan
  26. Corey LaJoie
  27. Ross Chastain
  28. Matt DiBenedetto
  29. Erik Jones
  30. Quin Houff
  31. Bayley Currey
  32. Cody Ware
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. Ryan Preece
  35. Alex Bowman
  36. Michael McDowell