Elliott Wins Playoff Cutoff at the Roval


Chase Elliott won the Bank of America Roval 400 from the Charlotte Motor Speedway road course on Sunday afternoon.

Elliott had a dominant car throughout the race, but a miscue on a late restart almost ended his day.  After taking the green flag, Elliott locked up his tires and slid into the Turn 1 wall.

Elliott said he was happy he could come back from the mistake.

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

“You talk about messing something up,” Elliott said.  “I pretty well blew it and got cautions at the right time and brought it home.”

Elliott led a race-high 35 laps on his way to victory lane, and the win was his third win of 2019, his second at a road course.

Elliott said the extra Playoff Points will help in the next round of the Playoffs.

“It’s our last road course, so the biggest thing is we have six more bonus points to continue forward with,” Elliott said.  “Luckily our car wasn’t too bad, and our Napa Camaro was fast enough to drive through there.”

After the race ended, four drivers were eliminated from the Playoffs as the first round came to an end.  Aric Almirola, Ryan Newman, Kurt Busch and Erik Jones were all eliminated from contention.

Alex Bowman was on the bubble coming into the race on Sunday, and after spinning on lap 1 it seemed like his Playoff hopes would be over.  Bowman was able to drive up through the field to finish second and lock himself into the next round.

Bowman said he was glad to come back after trying to give the race away on the first lap.

“Glad we were able to rebound,” Bowman said.  “The guys obviously gave me a really strong car to come back through the field.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Alex Bowman
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. William Byron
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Ryan Blaney
  9. Jimmie Johnson
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Matt DiBenedetto
  12. Michael McDowell
  13. Kyle Larson
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Ty Dillon
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  18. Chris Buescher
  19. Denny Hamlin
  20. Kurt Busch
  21. Ryan Preece
  22. Ross Chastain
  23. Austin Dillon
  24. Bubba Wallace
  25. Matt Tifft
  26. Parker Kligerman
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Landon Cassill
  29. JJ Yeley
  30. Timmy Hill
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. Ryan Newman
  33. Daniel Hemric
  34. Daniel Suarez
  35. David Ragan
  36. Garrett Smithley
  37. Kyle Busch
  38. Josh Bilicki
  39. Reed Sorenson
  40. Erik Jones