Erik Jones Survives Wild Daytona Race for First Cup Win


Erik Jones won the Coke Zero Sugar 400 on Saturday night from Daytona International Speedway.

Jones survived a wild race where multiple wrecks took out half the field.  Jones was involved in the first big accident, but his team was able to repair the car and get Jones back to the front.

Sarah Crabill/Getty Images

Jones said he didn’t think his car would be able to compete following the early damage.

“I thought we were out of it and then we were right back in it,” Jones said.  “I didn’t think we were going to have a shot to win it there at about halfway, but we got ourselves back into contention.”

The victory was Jones’ first in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, and he said he never thought it would be at a superspeedway like Daytona.

“I’ve never been that good on superspeedways and never really thought this our shot to win,” Jones said.  “It’s the first win, and not much has felt better than this one.”

Martin Truex Jr. was leading on the final restart, but he couldn’t hold off Jones over the final two laps.

Truex said he just wasn’t able to block Jones’ run in time.

“I just got to get better at the blocking; it’s never been my strong suit,” Truex said.  “It was a good run, but we came up a little short.”

“They destroyed some cars tonight…cool to get to the end.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Erik Jones
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. AJ Allmendinger
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Chris Buescher
  6. Ty Dillon
  7. Matt DiBenedetto
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Austin Dillon
  10. Alex Bowman
  11. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  12. Brendan Gaughan
  13. DJ Kennington
  14. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  15. David Ragan
  16. Ray Black Jr.
  17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  18. JJ Yeley
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Trevor Bayne
  21. Ross Chastain
  22. Clint Bowyer
  23. Jimmie Johnson
  24. Landon Cassill
  25. Joey Gase
  26. Michael McDowell
  27. Aric Almirola
  28. Paul Menard
  29. Kyle Larson
  30. Jamie McMurray
  31. Corey LaJoie
  32. William Byron
  33. Kyle Busch
  34. Chase Elliott
  35. Daniel Suarez
  36. Brad Keselowski
  37. Kurt Busch
  38. Denny Hamlin
  39. Joey Logano
  40. Ryan Blaney