Harvick Cruises to Victory in Michigan


Kevin Harvick won the Consumers Energy 400 from Michigan International Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Sarah Crabill/Getty Images

Harvick dominated on Sunday, and earned his seventh victory after leading 108 laps.  After winning both stages, Harvick pulled away from Austin Dillon over the final 60-lap run to get to victory lane.

Harvick said he and his team were only focused on winning this weekend.

“The most important thing is winning races right now,” Harvick said.  “That’s what we’ve been trying to do all year is win races…and get all the points you can get to position yourself well to get to Homestead.”

“We don’t want to learn anything, we don’t want to try anything different; we want to go out and we want to win.”

Dillon was running second with two laps to go, but he dropped to fourth after suffering a tire issue coming to the white flag.

Dillon said he was disappointed that he wasn’t able to fight Harvick for the win.

“We were in a position where, if something happened to [Harvick], we could win the race,” Dillon said.  “I came down the straightaway and it was just shaking like either the tire was unravelling or a loose wheel.”

“Didn’t want to lose this great finish.  We have this capability when we put our best days together, and we’ve got to keep doing it…this year being in the playoffs.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Austin Dillon
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Aric Almirola
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Chase Elliott
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Daniel Suarez
  12. Clint Bowyer
  13. Erik Jones
  14. Martin Truex Jr.
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Kyle Larson
  18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  19. Alex Bowman
  20. Chris Buescher
  21. Jamie McMurray
  22. AJ Allmendinger
  23. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  24. Matt DiBenedetto
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Kasey Kahne
  27. David Ragan
  28. Jimmie Johnson
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. Blake Jones
  31. BJ McLeod
  32. Garrett Smithley
  33. Gray Gaulding
  34. Trevor Bayne
  35. Ross Chastain
  36. William Byron
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Ty Dillon
  39. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  40. Corey LaJoie