Harvick Ends Drought, Wins at New Hampshire


Kevin Harvick won the Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 from New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Harvick used pit strategy late in the race to pick up his first win of the season.  When a caution came out with 30 laps to go, Harvick stayed out while most of the field behind him pitted.  After retaining the lead on the restart, Harvick had to hold off Denny Hamlin, who was coming with two fresher tires.

Courtesy NASCAR

Harvick said he didn’t think the call would turn out to be the winning move.

“I didn’t think we had the best chance to win staying out, but Rodney and those guys made a great call,” Harvick said.  “Stayed out there and ran a lot of good laps.”

Harvick was able to hold Hamlin off for most of the final run, but the two made contact while racing around lapped traffic on the final lap.

Harvick said he knew Hamlin would use the bumper on the final lap.

“He tried to move me out of the way there and I knew that was coming as close as he was,” Harvick said.  “He dove to the outside of me and I just put a wheel on him.”

Hamlin used his bumper to try and move Harvick on the last lap, but he wasn’t able to complete the pass after the two made contact coming out of the final corner.

Hamlin said he didn’t want to completely ruin Harvick’s race by putting him in the wall.

“I wanted to just tap him there, but didn’t want to completely screw him,” Hamlin said.  “I at least wanted to give him a fair shot.”

“He saw that I had a big run and just turned right…I would do the same thing.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Erik Jones
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Matt DiBenedetto
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Joey Logano
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Aric Almirola
  12. William Byron
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Alex Bowman
  15. Chris Buescher
  16. Ty Dillon
  17. Michael McDowell
  18. Kurt Busch
  19. Daniel Suarez
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. Ryan Preece
  22. Bubba Wallace
  23. Corey LaJoie
  24. Matt Tifft
  25. Ross Chastain
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. Reed Sorenson
  28. Andy Seuss
  29. Chase Elliott
  30. Jimmie Johnson
  31. Quin Houff
  32. Austin Dillon
  33. Kyle Larson
  34. David Ragan
  35. Austin Theriault
  36. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  37. Daniel Hemric