Joey Logano Wins Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Championship


Joey Logano won the Ford Ecoboost 400 from Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday night to win the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series championship.

Logano was considered the underdog for the championship heading into the race as he went up against the strong trio of Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick and Martin Truex Jr. in the Championship Round.

Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Truex and Harvick had the dominant cars all day, but Logano had the fastest car for the first 20 laps of a run.  When the four drivers lined up for a final restart with 15 laps to go, Logano was able to work his way around Truex to win the race.

Logano said he knew he had a fast car and that he wanted the victory.

“I knew I was going to pass that car,” Logano said.  “We rise to the occasion and execute under pressure like that.  Our car was a short-run car…it came down to that short run and we’re champions.”

As a teenager, Logano was called “the best thing since sliced bread” by NASCAR Hall of Famer Mark Martin.  Logano said he was happy to finally back up the legend’s praises in his 10th season at the Cup level.

“I’ve worked my whole life to get here,” Logano said.  “I’ve spent 10 seasons fighting for this.  I can’t believe it.  It’s a dream come true.”

Truex finished second on Sunday, falling one position short of repeating as Cup Series Champion.  Truex said his car just wasn’t fast enough on the short run to compete with Logano.

“We had it, we just couldn’t go over 15 laps,” Truex said.  “I was just slow for 15 laps.  Not the way we wanted to go out, but a hell of an effort.”

Truex’s team, Furniture Row Racing, is shutting down after Homestead.  Truex, who will be moving on to Joe Gibbs Racing next year, said he was sad to see his team disband after five years together.

“I’m going to miss these guys; wish we could have won it,” Truex said.  “Been the best time of my life.  These guys, they’ve been amazing.”

“They’ve made me a superstar in NASCAR, and I’m just very thankful for them all.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Kevin Harvick
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Kyle Larson
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Ryan Blaney
  18. Jamie McMurray
  19. AJ Allmendinger
  20. David Ragan
  21. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Chris Buescher
  24. William Byron
  25. Paul Menard
  26. Matt DiBenedetto
  27. Erik Jones
  28. Michael McDowell
  29. Alex Bowman
  30. Daniel Suarez
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. JJ Yeley
  33. Ross Chastain
  34. Corey LaJoie
  35. BJ McLeod
  36. Kyle Weatherman
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Tanner Berryhill
  39. Regan Smith