Keselowski Dominates in Martinsville Victory


Brad Keselowski won the STP 500 from Martinsville Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Keselowski dominated throughout the afternoon, and led a race-high 446 of 500 laps.  Throughout the race, Keselowski was followed by Chase Elliott, but Keselowski was able to hold off NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver over the final run to pick up the victory.

Keselowski said his pit crew helped keep him up front during some of the most important pit stops throughout the day.

“That’s what this team does,” Keselowski said.  “They never give up and I’m very proud of them.  Just great for our team; awesome execution on pit road.”

Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

Keselowski led all but 54 laps, and he said he studied how Elliott drove the track when he found himself behind the younger driver.  Keselowski said he used that knowledge to hold Elliott off in the closing laps.

“I don’t know if we were as good as [Elliott],” Keselowski said.  “He passed me there with about 200 to go, and I watched him and studied him.  Kind of broke it down to where I knew what I had to do to hold him off with that fast of a car.”

Elliott started to run Keselowski down with just a handful of laps remaining, but ran out of time to make a move.  Elliott said he wished he’d changed his line sooner to catch Keselowski.

“I tried to move up there at the end, I don’t know if I could have got to him,” Elliott said.  “I tried to get him there in Turn 3, and was pretty well content on moving him out of the way.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Aric Almirola
  10. Daniel Suarez
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Kurt Busch
  13. Ty Dillon
  14. Alex Bowman
  15. Paul Menard
  16. Ryan Preece
  17. Bubba Wallace
  18. Kyle Larson
  19. Joey Logano
  20. Matt DiBenedetto
  21. Chris Buescher
  22. William Byron
  23. Ryan Newman
  24. Jimmie Johnson
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. David Ragan
  27. Daniel Hemric
  28. Landon Cassill
  29. Matt Tifft
  30. Erik Jones
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. DJ Kennington
  33. Corey LaJoie
  34. Ross Chastain
  35. Jeb Burton
  36. Cody Ware