Keselowski Wins Advanced Auto Parts Clash at Daytona

during practice for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Advance Auto Parts Clash at Daytona International Speedway on February 10, 2018 in Daytona Beach, Florida.

Brad Keselowski won the Advanced Auto Parts Clash on Sunday afternoon from Daytona International Speedway.

The Clash, a non-points event, serves as the kickoff to the NASCAR season.  The 75-lap event is open to 2017 pole winners, 2017 playoff drivers and any previous Daytona 500 pole winners.

Photo courtesy Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Keselowski was confident he would be able to win on Sunday, even tweeting before the race that he would end up in victory lane despite starting last.  Keselowski said he was glad to finally win something during Daytona’s Speedweeks.

“I’m happy for everyone on my team, this is the first time I’ve won anything at Speedweeks,” Keselowski said.  “It’s nice to see we didn’t choke on this one.”

With a new rules package at Daytona, many teams were worried about how their cars would handle.  Keselowski said he was proud of his team for rising to the challenge.

“I’m thankful for the team,” Keselowski said.  “Completely different package than what we’ve had here at Daytona…so the guys had to show up with a way different car.  That’s a testament to everyone at Team Penske.”

Keselowski’s teammate Joey Logano finished second after following Keselowski for the last third of the race single-file.  Logano said the cars were so hard to handle that it was difficult to make a move.

“I think handling definitely came into play there, a lot of cars slipping and sliding,” Logano said.  “The moves are hard to make because the cars are out of control out there.”

Logano said he was glad to see the Team Penske cars run up front as they get ready for next Sunday’s Daytona 500.

“We learned a lot for the [Daytona] 500 and the Duels coming up, and that was a big deal about today,” Logano said.  “This was probably the most important Clash I’ve ever been a part of.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Ryan Blaney
  5. Austin Dillon
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Erik Jones
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Kyle Larson
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Martin Truex Jr.
  15. Kasey Kahne
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Jamie McMurray