Keselowski Wins at Atlanta as New Rules Package Debuts


Brad Keselowski won the Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 from the Atlanta Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Keselowski held off Martin Truex Jr. in the closing laps to pick up the victory.  It was the first race with NASCAR’s new rules package for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, and Keselowski said it was special that his team was able to win the first one.

Sean Gardner/Getty Images

“With the first race with the new rules…to be able to win it is really special,” Keselowski said.  “I know everybody here is excited about that.”

With the victory, Keselowski passed Mark Donahue for the most wins for Team Penske.  Keselowski said it was an honor to be on top of a list with some of the most legendary drivers across all racing series.

“I think any win means a lot, but [60] is a big number,” Keselowski said.  “What a tremendous honor.”

Truex fell just short of passing Keselowski.  After the race, Truex said he was frustrated with the way Ricky Stenhouse Jr. was racing the leaders in the closing laps.

“The 17 [of Stenhouse] rode in front of us forever and ever just running the bottom,” Truex said.  “I told him I needed the bottom and these cars are just so bad in dirty air.”

“Once I got around him I drove up to Keselowski in two laps; just needed one more.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Clint Bowyer
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Erik Jones
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Chris Buescher
  10. Daniel Suarez
  11. Denny Hamlin
  12. Kyle Larson
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Alex Bowman
  16. David Ragan
  17. William Byron
  18. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  19. Chase Elliott
  20. Daniel Hemric
  21. Austin Dillon
  22. Ryan Blaney
  23. Joey Logano
  24. Jimmie Johnson
  25. Ty Dillon
  26. Matt DiBenedetto
  27. Bubba Wallace
  28. Matt Tifft
  29. Corey LaJoie
  30. Parker Kligerman
  31. Ross Chastain
  32. BJ McLoed
  33. Cody Ware
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Ryan Preece
  36. Garrett Smithley
  37. Michael McDowell