Keselowski Wins the Southern 500


Brad Keselowski won the Bojangles’ Southern 500 from Darlington Raceway on Sunday night.

Keselowski snapped a 25-race winless streak and locked himself into the Playoffs with the victory.

Sarah Crabill/Getty Images

Keselowski was running second late in the race, but his pit crew gave him the lead following the final caution.  He was able to pull away from Joey Logano and Kyle Larson over the final 20-lap run and head to victory lane.

Keselowski said it was a testament to his team for getting him out front when it counted.

“The 42 [of Larson] was really strong; probably whoever came off pit road first was going to win the race, but my team nailed the last pit stop,” Keselowski said.  “We probably didn’t have the long-run speed we needed, but on short runs it was great.  We were there when it counted.”

After winning one of NASCAR’s Crown Jewel events, Keselowski said the win was the biggest of his career.

“The Southern 500 has always been a major…this has got to be the biggest,” Keselowski said.  “I didn’t know coming into today if we were going to be fast enough to win; as soon as they dropped the green I knew this thing was good.”

Larson dominated most of the evening and led a race-high 284 laps, but he settled for a third-place finish.  After losing the lead before the final restart, Larson said the handling on his car went away.

“All day, whenever I’d get in traffic, I’d get loose…and I was just really loose behind Keselowski,” Larson said.  “It’s always important to come off the leader on pit road so you can be the control car on the restart.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Brad Keselowski
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Kyle Larson
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Erik Jones
  9. Jamie McMurray
  10. Denny Hamlin
  11. Martin Truex Jr.
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Chris Buescher
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Ryan Blaney
  16. Austin Dillon
  17. Paul Menard
  18. David Ragan
  19. Ryan Newman
  20. Michael McDowell
  21. Ty Dillon
  22. AJ Allmendinger
  23. Alex Bowman
  24. Kasey Kahne
  25. Matt Kenseth
  26. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Ross Chastain
  29. Daniel Suarez
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. BJ McLeod
  33. Derrike Cope
  34. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  35. William Byron
  36. Clint Bowyer
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Matt DiBenedetto
  39. Jimmie Johnson
  40. Joey Gase