Kyle Busch Continues to Win in Richmond

  1. Kyle Busch won the Toyota Owners 400 from Richmond Raceway on Saturday night for his third-straight victory.

Busch started 32nd on Saturday, but he quickly worked his way into the Top 10 within the first 50 laps.  After becoming the first driver to win at Richmond from so far back in the field, Busch said he owed the win to his team.

Sarah Crabill/Getty Images

“The pit crew tonight, they won this race for us,” Busch said.  “Those last two times we came down for tires…they got us where we needed to be.”

Busch took the lead late, and he had to hold off the field on two late restarts after cautions forced the race into overtime.  On the final restart, Busch pulled ahead of Chase Elliott to win for the third-straight time.

Busch said he was excited to win his third race, but that it would be hard to go for four-straight with Talladega looming next weekend.

“It’s hard to go to Talladega with that much of a winning streak and think you can win,” Busch said.  “I don’t know if you can shoot for four-in-a-row, but we’re going to go there and give it a shot.”

Elliott finished second for the eighth time in his career after he couldn’t catch Busch in the closing laps.

Elliott said his cars still don’t have the speed to win, but that he was happy to get a good finish.

“We still have a lot of work to do…to have the speed that we need to drive it like we want it to,” Elliott said.  “Our restarts fell into our hands there at the end; having short runs kind of fell into our favor and I was able to move forward.”

“Circumstances were on our side tonight, which is not normal, so I’m happy about that.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Daniel Suarez
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. William Byron
  13. Erik Jones
  14. Martin Truex Jr.
  15. Austin Dillon
  16. Matt DiBenedetto
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Alex Bowman
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Ty Dillon
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. Ryan Blaney
  23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  24. Paul Menard
  25. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  26. Chris Buescher
  27. AJ Allmendinger
  28. Ross Chastain
  29. Kasey Kahne
  30. Cole Whitt
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Daniel Hemric
  33. David Ragan
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Gray Gaulding
  36. Harrison Rhodes
  37. Ryan Newman
  38. Reed Sorenson