Larson Snaps Winless Streak with Dover Victory


Kyle Larson won the Drydene 400 from Dover International Speedway on Sunday afternoon to snap a 75-race winless streak.

Larson had a strong car throughout the entire weekend, and ran up front for most of the race after qualifying second.  After taking the lead following a pit stop in the final stage, Larson was able to work his way through lapped traffic on his way to victory lane.

Chris Trotman/Getty Images

Larson said this win was big for his team after going winless in 2018.

“It’s been a long time since we’ve won a points-paying race,” Larson said.  “We won the All-Star Race earlier this year…but we wanted to win a points race and we did it when it mattered.”

With the wild card of the Playoffs at Talladega next weekend, the victory locked Larson into the third round.

Larson said he was happy he won’t have to stress about Talladega next weekend.

“Everybody in the Playoff field is going to be stressing next week at Talladega, except for me,” Larson said.  “Last time I was at Talladega, I was on my lid…I could still end up on my lid next week but it’s not going to matter.”

Martin Truex Jr. finished second on Sunday.  Truex won Stage 2, but a pit road mistake by his crew cost him the lead to Larson.

Truex said lapped traffic played a part in his ability to catch the leader.

“We were catching him at the end; we got close, but just unfortunate,” Truex said.  “Lost track position and just the whole third stage we were behind.”

“Good job by all the guys, good rebound by the pit crew, and just a solid day at Dover.  We had a shot at the win come up short; would have been nice to have that win and a free pass.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Alex Bowman
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Matt DiBenedetto
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Paul Menard
  13. William Byron
  14. Daniel Suarez
  15. Erik Jones
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Austin Dillon
  19. Ryan Preece
  20. Bubba Wallace
  21. Daniel Hemric
  22. Ryan Newman
  23. Ty Dillon
  24. Michael McDowell
  25. Matt Tifft
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. David Ragan
  28. Corey LaJoie
  29. BJ McLeod
  30. Joe Nemechek
  31. Ross Chastain
  32. JJ Yeley
  33. Garrett Smithley
  34. Joey Logano
  35. Ryan Blaney
  36. Chris Buescher
  37. Reed Sorenson
  38. Chase Elliott