Larson Wins All-Star Race


Kyle Larson won the Monster Energy All-Star Race from Charlotte Motor Speedway on Saturday night.

Larson did not have an easy trip to the main event on Saturday, as he had to race his way in from the Monster Energy Open.  The Open is a “last chance” race for all the drivers not already qualified for the All-Star Race.  Larson won the final stage in the Open to secure his spot in the All-Star Race.

Larson said his crew had to work hard before the All-Star Race to get the car ready after winning the Open.

“This whole day was up and down,” Larson said.  “From the B-Main we were in, to getting a little bit of damage we had to repair.”

Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Larson took the lead on the final restart, and was able to hold off Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch over the final 10-lap run to win the race and $1 Million.

Larson said he used a push from Harvick on the final restart to clear the leaders.

“Harvick gave me a heck of a push to get to the lead from the third row, and that was huge,” Larson said.  “To get by the 18 [of Busch] that final restart…just had to guess what he was going to do behind me and try to take his air away.”

Harvick had the fastest car throughout the race, but miscues on pit road forced him to restart back in the pack late in the race.

Harvick said he was disappointed he couldn’t come up with the victory on Saturday.

“It was just unfortunate the way that pit road went tonight, because it wasn’t even close to anybody having a good car like we had tonight,” Harvick said.  “Just a great night for performance; just a bad night for pit road.”

“That’s how you take the fastest car and don’t win the race with it; you spot them the whole field.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Bubba Wallace
  6. Aric Almirola
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Alex Bowman
  9. William Byron
  10. Martin Truex Jr.
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Clint Bowyer
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Chase Elliott
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. Ryan Blaney
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Denny Hamlin
  19. Erik Jones