Logano Returns to Victory Lane with Talladega Win


Joey Logano won the Geico 500 from Talladega Superspeedway on Sunday afternoon.

Logano led a race-high 70 laps, and led a group of Ford drivers who dominated most of the race.  Fords made up six of the top seven spots, and Logano said his victory was due to the Ford drivers working together.

Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

“Ford teamwork is what did it today,” Logano said.  “Not only with the Team Penske Fords, but all the Fords out there.”

Logano won on Sunday for the first time in a year.  Following his victory last year in Richmond, Logano’s car was found to be illegal by NASCAR and the win could not be used to get into the playoffs.  A string of bad luck followed and Logano missed the playoffs.  With his win on Sunday, Logano punched his ticket to this year’s playoffs.

Logano said it was a weight off his shoulder to return to victory lane.

“Man, it feels so good to be back in victory lane,” Logano said.  “It feels so good, we don’t have to worry about the playoffs thing; we’re in.”

Kurt Busch was running second in the closing laps, but after getting separated from his Stewart-Haas Racing teammate Kevin Harvick, his plan to challenge for the victory fell apart.

Busch said he should have done something different in the closing laps to try and pick up the victory.

“I didn’t quite make the right move and it’s a shame,” Busch said.  “It was one of the best Fords I’ve ever had.”

“My plan was to roll with Kevin until the last lap and then slingshot by him on the outside.  Everyone’s just running side-by-side trying to get everything they can…and it didn’t quite materialize.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Kurt Busch
  3. Chase Elliott
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  6. David Ragan
  7. Aric Almirola
  8. Alex Bowman
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Daniel Suarez
  11. Chris Buescher
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. Kyle Busch
  14. Denny Hamlin
  15. Ty Dillon
  16. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  17. Kasey Kahne
  18. Ryan Blaney
  19. Matt DiBenedetto
  20. DJ Kennington
  21. Cole Whitt
  22. Brendan Gaughan
  23. Timothy Peters
  24. Gray Gaulding
  25. Ross Chastain
  26. Martin Truex Jr.
  27. Joey Gase
  28. Jamie McMurray
  29. William Byron
  30. Paul Menard
  31. Clint Bowyer
  32. Michael McDowell
  33. Brad Keselowski
  34. AJ Allmendinger
  35. Austin Dillon
  36. Timmy Hill
  37. Reed Sorenson
  38. Trevor Bayne
  39. Erik Jones
  40. Kyle Larson