Logano Wins at Martinsville in Wild Finish


Joey Logano won the First Data 500 from Martinsville Speedway on Sunday afternoon to clinch a spot in the Championship Round of the Playoffs.

Logano led a race-high 309 laps on his way to victory lane.  While he had a dominant car, he had to hold off Brad Keselowski, Denny Hamlin and Martin Truex Jr. over the final 50 laps.

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Truex and Logano raced side-by-side over the final 10 laps, and Truex took the lead coming off Turn 2 on the final lap.  Logano drove into the back of Truex going into the final corner, and two drivers made contact coming to the finish line.

Logano said he did what he had to do in trying to clinch a spot in the final round of the Playoffs.

“Just thinking about Miami,” Logano said.  “We’re here to win a championship this year.  We’re just going to focus hard on moving forward right now and building a great car for Miami.”

Truex raced Logano clean while the two battled for the lead, but Logano used the bumper in a last-ditch effort to get the victory.

After exiting his car to a chorus of boos from the Martinsville audience, Logano said he knew he was only going to have one shot at the win.

“I knew I was going to lay the bumper,” Logano said.  “I knew that my one shot was going to be to lay the bumper to him a little bit.”

“You’ve just got to expect Martinsville at the end of the race…you’re going to have some bumping and grinding.”

Truex Jr. wasn’t as pleased with Logano’s move late in the race, and said he would make sure Logano didn’t win the championship.

“I was next to him for six laps and I never knocked him out of the way,” Truex said.  “We were going to race hard for it in my book.  I cleared him, fair and square…he just drove into the back of me and knocked me out of the way.”

“I’m just not going to let him win it; I’m going to win it…he may have won the battle, but he ain’t won the damn war.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Brad Keselowski
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Daniel Suarez
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Aric Almirola
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. Chris Buescher
  14. AJ Allmendinger
  15. Ty Dillon
  16. Jamie McMurray
  17. Alex Bowman
  18. David Ragan
  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  20. Ryan Blaney
  21. Clint Bowyer
  22. Paul Menard
  23. Matt Kenseth
  24. Cole Whitt
  25. Michael McDowell
  26. Erik Jones
  27. DJ Kennington
  28. Regan Smith
  29. Ross Chastain
  30. Austin Dillon
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Jeb Burton
  34. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  35. Joey Gase
  36. Matt DiBenedetto
  37. Kyle Larson
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. William Byron
  40. Hermie Sadler