Logano Wins in Phoenix


Joey Logano won the FanShield 500 from Phoenix Raceway on Sunday afternoon after surviving multiple late restarts.

Logano had an eventful day that included a pit road penalty halfway through the race that forced him to work his way back through the field.  After getting to the lead, he was able to hold off challenges from Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick and Kyle Busch in the closing laps.

Logano said his car was strong enough to overcome the pit miscues early in the race.

Christian Petersen/Getty Images

“Boy, we had more things go wrong today,” Logano said.  “Unfortunate situation with the jack breaking…just had some good restarts to get ourselves back up there.  We had a really good car.”

Logano held off Harvick over two late-race restarts.  Harvick, who has been a consistent front-runner at Phoenix, was unable to get close enough to Logano in the closing laps to make a winning move.

Logano said he changed his driving style because he was expecting contact from Harvick.

“I knew racing Kevin was going to be hard there; figured I was going to get hit,” Logano said.  “I thought he was going to give me the bump-and-run, which I would expect and wouldn’t blame him for.”

Harvick said once he lost the lead he wasn’t able to control the race how he would have liked.

“[Logano] just had control of the race,” Harvick said.  “After we pitted there, we got stuck behind a couple cars and lost five or six spots.  He got by and got control of the race.”

“Our Jimmy John’s Ford was better…we just didn’t get the control of the race and he was able to get by us on that restart where I got hung up.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Clint Bowyer
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Cole Custer
  10. William Byron
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. Matt DiBenedetto
  14. Alex Bowman
  15. Ty Dillon
  16. Michael McDowell
  17. Chris Buescher
  18. Ryan Preece
  19. Bubba Wallace
  20. Denny Hamlin
  21. Daniel Suarez
  22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  23. Ross Chastain
  24. Christopher Bell
  25. John Hunter Nemechek
  26. JJ Yeley
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Erik Jones
  29. Joey Gase
  30. Reed Sorenson
  31. Brennan Poole
  32. Martin Truex Jr.
  33. Tyler Reddick
  34. Quin Houff
  35. Garrett Smithley
  36. Austin Dillon
  37. Ryan Blaney
  38. Timmy Hill