Celtics NewsfeedNBA

    Ray Allen, Two Other Former Boston Celtics Voted into Hall of Fame

    Allen heads to Springfield along with Dino Radja, Charlie Scott and others.


    The Class of 2018 being inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame has a bit of a green tint to it.

    In total, three players who suited up for the Boston Celtics during their playing careers will be heading to Springfield; Ray Allen, Dino Radja and Charlie Scott.

    Allen is obviously the most recent and longest-tenured Celtic at five seasons. Radja played in Boston three seasons in the mid-1990s and Scott won a ring with the franchise in 1976, spending just two years in green.

    The rest of the Class of 2018 includes Jason Kidd, Steve Nash, Grant Hill, Maurice Cheeks, Charles “Lefty” Driesell, Katie Smith, Tina Thompson, Rod Thorn, Rick Welts and Ora Mae Washington.

    Allen’s time with the Celtics has taken some heat due to his departure and apparent feud with his former teammates, but his Hall of Fame candidacy was without question. He finished his long career a 40-percent 3-point shooter and with 18.9 points per game.

    Allen played with the Milwaukee Bucks, Seattle Supersonics, Celtics and Miami Heat, winning a title with both Boston and Miami. It’s unclear under which franchise of the four he’ll be enshrined under.

    Radja played in the NBA only for the Boston Celtics, averaging 16.7 points and 8.4 rebounds per game over four seasons. He won two Euroleague championships and countless other awards and titles. The Croatian big was voted one of FIBA’s top 50 players in 1991.