Truex Finally Wins with Joe Gibbs at Richmond


Martin Truex Jr. won the Toyota Owners 400 from Richmond Raceway on Saturday night for his first win of the season.

Truex finally broke through to win with Joe Gibbs Racing after switching to the Toyota powerhouse following Furniture Row Racing’s closure at the end of 2018.  Truex came into the race winless, while two of his teammates Kyle Busch and Denny Hamlin have won five of the first eight races.

Truex said he was excited to finally win with his new team.

“We’re just really excited,” Truex said.  “Everyone at JGR is doing a great job…we’ve been chipping away at it, so hopefully we can get better from here on out.”

Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

Truex led the most laps on Saturday, but he had to hold off Joey Logano and Clint Bowyer over the final 50 laps.

With the laps winding down, Truex said he began to struggle with his car’s handling.

“I was struggling the last 40 laps; had no front turn,” Truex said.  “I was just real tight that last run.  It was real important to be out front tonight, but thanks to the pit crew they kept us out there.”

Logano was able to get to Truex’s bumper on the final lap, but wasn’t able to pass the driver of the No. 19.

The two have history together; Logano moved Truex on the final lap at the Playoff race in Martinsville last fall, and the move helped Logano win his first Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Championship.

Logano said the move from last season was on his mind as the race was coming to a close.

“We were close, but not close enough,” Logano said.  “I figured something out there at the end with about 10 laps to go to make up some speed.”

“When you’re frustrated with second, that’s a good sign about where your team’s at.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Clint Bowyer
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Brad Keselowski
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Paul Menard
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. William Byron
  14. Erik Jones
  15. Chase Elliott
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Alex Bowman
  18. Daniel Suarez
  19. Daniel Hemric
  20. Ryan Preece
  21. Ty Dillon
  22. Chris Buescher
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Matt DiBenedetto
  25. Ryan Blaney
  26. Corey LaJoie
  27. Bubba Wallace
  28. David Ragan
  29. Matt Tifft
  30. Ross Chastain
  31. Jeb Burton
  32. Bayley Currey
  33. Joey Gase
  34. Quin Houff
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. Michael McDowell
  37. Kyle Larson