Denny Hamlin Wins Daytona 500, Newman Taken to Hospital Following Accident


Denny Hamlin won the 62nd running of the Daytona 500 on Monday night from Daytona International Speedway.

Hamlin won his third Daytona 500 on Sunday following a photo finish with Ryan Blaney.

Courtesy ESPN

Hamlin, who was one of the favorites going into the weekend, said it was unexpected to win his second-consecutive Daytona 500.

“I knew [Ryan Newman and Blaney] were going to come with a big run right there; my job was to just not put a block that was going to wreck me,” Hamlin said.  “I got to the 12 [of Blaney’s] bumper, got to pushing him there and I knew I was going to give him a big run.”

Hamlin’s celebration was subdued as teams waited to hear any information on Newman, who wrecked coming to the checkered flag.  Newman was turned into the outside wall, flipped and was hit in the driver’s side by Corey LaJoie.

Newman was extracted from his car by safety personnel and taken to the local hospital.

Drivers up and down pit road were worried about Newman’s condition.

“We pushed Newman there to the lead, and then we got a push from the 11 [of Hamlin],” Blaney said after finishing second.  “I made a move off turn four on Newman and he blocked it.  I kind of went low and he blocked that, so then I was committed to just pushing him to the win; I guess we got our bumpers hooked up wrong.”

“I hope he’s alright; it looked pretty bad.”

“Number one, we’re praying for Ryan,” Hamlin said.  “I think we take for granted sometimes how safe the cars are.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Chris Buescher
  4. David Ragan
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Brendan Gaughan
  8. Corey LaJoie
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Kyle Larson
  11. John Hunter Nemechek
  12. Austin Dillon
  13. Justin Haley
  14. Michael McDowell
  15. Bubba Wallace
  16. Brennan Poole
  17. Chase Elliott
  18. Erik Jones
  19. Matt DiBenedetto
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Christopher Bell
  22. Aric Almirola
  23. Joey Gase
  24. Alex Bowman
  25. Ross Chastain
  26. Joey Logano
  27. Timmy Hill
  28. Tyler Reddick
  29. Ryan Preece
  30. Ty Dillon
  31. Reed Sorenson
  32. Martin Truex Jr.
  33. Kurt Busch
  34. Kyle Busch
  35. Jimmie Johnson
  36. Brad Keselowski
  37. Cole Custer
  38. BJ McLeod
  39. Quin Houff
  40. William Byron