Harvick Dominates in Texas


Kevin Harvick won the AAA Texas 500 from Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

Harvick was dominant all day, and won both stages while leading 177 laps on his way to victory lane.  After chasing down Ryan Blaney late in the race, Harvick held him off on the final restart for overtime to continue his dominance in Texas.

Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

Harvick said his team has continued to perform well at TMS.

“This place has been really good to me; glad I got to win,” Harvick said.  “For whatever reason, since they repaved this place, this place has kind of fit everything that we do.”

Blaney beat Harvick on a late restart to take the lead, but Harvick was able to get back to the lead before the final caution.

After watching the way Blaney got around Turns 1 and 2, Harvick said he used the younger driver’s handling against him.

“If [Blaney] wasn’t able to arc it into the corner, he couldn’t finish the corner,” Harvick said.  “He had a hard time staying in the throttle.  I just knew I needed to get down into the corner with him.”

Blaney said he tried to beat Harvick down into the corner, but that his car was so much better at the end.

“That was really the only shot we had to beat him,” Blaney said.  “We got by him one restart, and I just couldn’t hold him off; he was just really good.”

“Just needed to be mistake-free and then some, and we just couldn’t be that.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Ryan Blaney
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Erik Jones
  5. Kyle Larson
  6. Chase Elliott
  7. Kurt Busch
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Austin Dillon
  11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Alex Bowman
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. William Byron
  17. Kyle Busch
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. Ty Dillon
  23. Chris Buescher
  24. David Ragan
  25. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  26. Clint Bowyer
  27. Regan Smith
  28. Daniel Suarez
  29. Michael McDowell
  30. Denny Hamlin
  31. Parker Kligerman
  32. Ross Chastain
  33. Reed Sorenson
  34. Kyle Weatherman
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. JJ Yeley
  37. Joey Gase
  38. Matt DiBenedetto
  39. David Starr
  40. Corey LaJoie