Logano Wins at Bristol as Cup Series Returns to Dirt


Joey Logano won the Food City Dirt Race from the Bristol Motor Speedway on Monday afternoon.

Logano took the lead in the second stage and held on over the final stage to win the first dirt race for the Cup Series in over 50 years.

Logano said he’s put in a lot of work in the past few weeks to better prepare himself to race on dirt.

“We did a lot of work in the dirt department here the last few weeks,” Logano said.  “Just making laps and learning where I was going, and a lot of that helped.”

Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Logano held off Denny Hamlin over the final stage as the two drivers fought their way through lapped traffic.  Logano pulled out ahead on the final restart when Hamlin’s car didn’t stick on the high side headed into Turn 1.

Logano said he had to change his driving style to hold Hamlin off over the final run.

“Denny and I had a heck of a race because he found grip up top,” Logano said.  “I don’t know how to do that, so I had to go up there and figure it out.  Defended the lead position and then eventually just worked the lapped cars.”

Hamlin said the track lost grip before the final restart and he couldn’t hang with Logano on the high side.

“They didn’t prep it in between cautions like they did before,” Hamlin said.  “I thought I could just…run the top in hard.  It was just marbles up there.”

“Thought I had a shot there; cut the 22 [of Logano] too many breaks there when he was cutting us off.  We’re third-best again.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Daniel Suarez
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. William Byron
  7. Tyler Reddick
  8. Ryan Blaney
  9. Erik Jones
  10. Chase Elliott
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Michael McDowell
  13. Matt DiBenedetto
  14. Chris Buescher
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Kurt Busch
  17. Kyle Busch
  18. Ryan Preece
  19. Martin Truex Jr.
  20. Chase Briscoe
  21. Austin Dillon
  22. Alex Bowman
  23. Stewart Friesen
  24. Cole Custer
  25. Quin Houff
  26. Ty Dillon
  27. Bubba Wallace
  28. JJ Yeley
  29. Kyle Larson
  30. Josh Bilicki
  31. Mike Marlar
  32. Cody Ware
  33. Chris Windom
  34. Christopher Bell
  35. Ross Chastain
  36. Aric Almirola
  37. Shane Golobic
  38. Corey LaJoie
  39. Anthony Alfredo