Logano Wins in Las Vegas


Joey Logano won the Pennzoil 400 from the Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon to pick up his first win of the season.

Logano, who was in just his second race with new crew chief Paul Wolfe, used pit strategy to get to Victory Lane.

When a late caution came out with just five laps to go, Logano stayed out on track while most of the leaders pitted.  Logano was able to keep the lead on the final restart, and was leading when John Hunter Nemechek spun to bring out the caution that ended the race.

Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Logano said the call was a miscommunication between him and his new crew chief.

“Not really sure if I was supposed to stay out or come in, wasn’t sure what I was supposed to do,” Logano said.  “This is a huge win, and nice to start out and kick off the season with a ‘W.’”

Logano used a push from Ricky Stenhouse Jr. to get to the lead on the final restart, and said that allowed him to use clean air to get the win.

“I watched him and he pushed me, and then he shoved me ahead which was great,” Logano said.  “That was the winning move.  Clean air was going to be king, especially on old tires…if I got swallowed up by a few cars I was going to go back real quick.”

Matt DiBenedetto finished second in just his second race with his new team Wood Brothers Racing.

DiBenedetto stayed out under the final caution to get track position, and he said his team worked hard throughout the day to get his car to where it needed to be.

“This whole team…we were covered, and it wasn’t pretty at the start,” DiBenedetto said.  “They did an excellent job.  So happy to be working with this team, the journey’s been pretty cool.”

“Tough to be that close, but this is only the second race of the season.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Matt DiBenedetto
  3. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  4. Austin Dillon
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Bubba Wallace
  7. Brad Keselowski
  8. Kevin Harvick
  9. Kyle Larson
  10. Ty Dillon
  11. Ryan Blaney
  12. Clint Bowyer
  13. Alex Bowman
  14. Chris Buescher
  15. Kyle Busch
  16. Corey LaJoie
  17. Denny Hamlin
  18. Tyler Reddick
  19. Cole Custer
  20. Martin Truex Jr.
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. William Byron
  23. Erik Jones
  24. John Hunter Nemechek
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Chase Elliott
  27. Ross Chastain
  28. JJ Yeley
  29. Brennan Poole
  30. Daniel Suarez
  31. Joey Gase
  32. Quin Houff
  33. Christopher Bell
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Garrett Smithley
  36. Michael McDowell
  37. Ryan Preece
  38. Timmy Hill