Truex Out-Duels Logano in Phoenix


Martin Truex Jr. won the Instacart 500 from Phoenix Raceway on Sunday afternoon to pick up his first victory of the season.

Truex passed Joey Logano on a late restart to take the lead, and he was able to hold off the field to pick up the win.

Following early contact with the wall, Truex’s team was able to get his car dialed-in.  After his team was able to get him track position up front, Truex had one of the fastest cars on the track.

After winning only once in 2020, Truex said he was excited to get back to victory lane early in the season.

Sean Gardner/Getty Images

“We had a tough year last year; we were a little bit rocky,” Truex said.  “That was a hell of an effort by everybody.  Just so thankful for everyone at JGR and everybody that makes this possible.”

Phoenix will host the season finale in November, and Truex said he hopes he will be fighting for a championship the next time the Cup Series takes to the track.

“Phoenix has been a tough one for us,” Truex said.  “I wish it was November, but hopefully we can come back here in November and have a shot at being in the final four.”

Logano led a race-high 143 laps, but he had to settle for second after Truex took the lead on the final restart.  Logano took the inside lane coming back to green, but Truex was able to hang on the outside to take control.

Logano said he thought the bottom was going to allow him to pull ahead of Truex on the final restart.

“I was surprised [Truex] was able to hang with me on that start,” Logano said.  “When you’re in the corner door-to-door, the outside car has control of you.”

“Overall a solid day.  It’s not a win; second hurts, but we’ll move on and go to Atlanta.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. William Byron
  9. Christopher Bell
  10. Ryan Blaney
  11. Aric Almirola
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Alex Bowman
  14. Matt DiBenedetto
  15. Kurt Busch
  16. Bubba Wallace
  17. Austin Dillon
  18. Chris Buescher
  19. Ross Chastain
  20. Erik Jones
  21. Daniel Suarez
  22. Chase Briscoe
  23. Michael McDowell
  24. Justin Haley
  25. Kyle Busch
  26. Ryan Preece
  27. Corey LaJoie
  28. Ryan Newman
  29. Tyler Reddick
  30. BJ McLeod
  31. Cole Custer
  32. Quin Houff
  33. James Davison
  34. Garrett Smithley
  35. Josh Bilicki
  36. Cody Ware
  37. Anthony Alfredo
  38. Timmy Hill