Harvick Finally Wins at the Tricky Triangle


Kevin Harvick won the Pocono Organics 325 from Pocono Raceway on Saturday afternoon in the first race of NASCAR’s Pocono doubleheader.

Harvick used pit strategy to get to the front of the field, and he held off Denny Hamlin in the closing laps to pick up his first career victory at the Tricky Triangle.

Harvick said his team worked hard to finally get to victory lane in Pocono.

“We weren’t where we needed to be to start the race,” Harvick said.  “Came back and made some great strategy calls and were able to get out front.  Great to finally check Pocono off the list.”

With his win, Harvick will now start 20th for Sunday’s race at Pocono due to an invert of the top 20 finishers.

Patrick Smith/Getty Images

Harvick said he wasn’t worried about coming from the back of the field again.

“Well we were back to 20th today, so I think in the end it’s going to come down to strategy and what you need to do,” Harvick said.

Hamlin was chasing down Harvick in the closing laps, but he wasn’t able to get around to pick up his sixth victory at Pocono.

Hamlin said a vibration at the end of the race affected the handling of his car.

“It’s like something loosened all the nuts in the car,” Hamlin said.  “It was unfortunate…just with about 15-20 to go the vibration just got really, really bad.”

“Our car was extremely, extremely fast and optimistic for tomorrow’s race, for sure.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Aric Almirola
  4. Christopher Bell
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Michael McDowell
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Chris Buescher
  11. Matt Kenseth
  12. Ryan Blaney
  13. Matt DiBenedetto
  14. William Byron
  15. Ryan Newman
  16. Cole Custer
  17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  18. Kurt Busch
  19. Austin Dillon
  20. Ryan Preece
  21. Jimmie Johnson
  22. Bubba Wallace
  23. Corey LaJoie
  24. John Hunter Nemechek
  25. Chase Elliott
  26. Ty Dillon
  27. Alex Bowman
  28. Daniel Suarez
  29. Brennan Poole
  30. Tyler Reddick
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. Josh Bilicki
  33. Garrett Smithley
  34. James Davison
  35. Timmy Hill
  36. Joey Logano
  37. Joey Gase
  38. Erik Jones
  39. BJ McLeod
  40. Quin Houff