Elliott Wins at Road America, Continues Road Course Success


Chase Elliott won the Jockey Made in America 250 from Road America on Sunday afternoon to pick up his second win of the season.

Elliott once again showed his strong road course racing abilities as he started in the back of the pack and drove all the way to the front.

After a late caution in Sunday’s morning qualifying session, Elliott was unable to get a complete lap in and had to start 32nd.

Throughout the difficult race, Elliott said tire conservation on a hot day was a key to getting to the front.

“Really proud of our team for overcoming some adversity early and having to start in the back,” Elliott said.  “It was a hot day. I think conserving your tire was really a little bit of a thing today, which to be honest we don’t have a lot of anymore.”

Logan Riely/Getty Images

Elliott was dominant on Sunday, and led a race-high 24 laps on his way to his seventh career road course victory.

Elliott said he found his rhythm halfway through the race at a track that hasn’t been on the Cup Series schedule in over 60 years.

“I just never felt like I got in a real good rhythm at all yesterday,” Elliott said.  “About halfway through the race I started finding some of that rhythm and was able to put it together.  Finally felt like I was able to piece most of it together.”

Christopher Bell finished second on Sunday, and he showed that his win at the Daytona Road Course early in the season was not a fluke.

Bell said he believed he could have gotten to Elliott if not for a penalty earlier in the race.

“I kind of buried ourselves there when I got a pit road penalty,” Bell said.  “I feel like we’re getting back on track. There’s not reason we can’t be running up front every week.”

Unofficial results:

  1. Chase Elliott
  2. Christopher Bell
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Kurt Busch
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Chase Briscoe
  7. Ross Chastain
  8. Tyler Reddick
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Matt DiBenedetto
  11. Austin Dillon
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Brad Keselowski
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Joey Logano
  16. Kyle Larson
  17. Cole Custer
  18. Chris Buescher
  19. Erik Jones
  20. Ryan Blaney
  21. Corey LaJoie
  22. Alex Bowman
  23. Josh Bilicki
  24. Bubba Wallace
  25. Justin Haley
  26. Ty Dillon
  27. Kevin Harvick
  28. James Davison
  29. AJ Allmendinger
  30. Michael McDowell
  31. Cody Ware
  32. Ryan Newman
  33. William Byron
  34. Quin Houff
  35. Kyle Tilley
  36. Daniel Suarez
  37. Anthony Alfredo
  38. Austin Cindric
  39. Ryan Eversley
  40. Ryan Preece